5 Ways to De-Stress

Hello friends. This week we will be discussing something people tend to avoid- stress. We all have it. Even if you don’t have anxiety you still get stressed. Like many mental issues, we usually don’t like talking about it. Since being stressed / anxious is such a common thing, I feel like it should be addressed.

That being said, I have come up with a couple of ways to de-stress. No matter how mild or severe your stress is, I find these coping mechanisms helpful. Before we even get started you must must must find your “happy place” (other than your bed). It can be a small corner in your room, your desk, or even your bathtub. It needs to be a place where you can vent your thoughts and find peace. This is a place where nothing should matter: school, sports, drama with friends. This is YOUR place. Now that we have that settled, lets get started.

  • After I have had my lil episode, I try to breathe. This is actually one of the hardest things for me because sometimes it can get me worked up again. I tend to pace around my room and take deep breathes. As simple as this one sounds, I find it the most beneficial.
  • Visualize something / somewhere that makes you feel better. It seems dumb but it actually helps. If you are having a hard time focusing put your headphones on and listen to the Pride and Prejudice album (or classical music). Not only will this help you focus it will sound amazing.
  • Instead of laying in the dark and watching Netflix, I find drawing or writing much more helpful. We all want to lay in bed and not care about our problems, but when we get out of bed our problems will still be there. I like to chill in my little sanctuary (also known as a “happy place”) and draw / write / read. Anything to clear your mind or vent your thoughts is helpful.
  • Exercise. I believe that exercising is an antidepressant (it actually fires the same neurons as antidepressants soooo), which means that we should all do it from time to time. Being a competitive swimmer, I exercise 1-2 times a day. Guess what? You don’t even have to exercise regularly! Whenever you are feeling  bad or stressed, take a walk.
  • I don’t know about you but music helps me with everything. Put on some of your favorite tunes and have a dance party. If you listen to depressing music, you will only make yourself feel worse. My go to artist has always been The 1975, but sometimes I like to throw in some Taylor Swift.

I hope you enjoyed this weeks post! I want to mention that I am no way a therapist, doctor, ext. These are just some things that I have learned from experience that have helped me. We all function differently so what may work for me, may not work for you.

xoxo, mh

Leave a Reply

