DIY: Wooden Chalkboard Sign

Hello lovelies! This week I will be showing you guys how to make a wooden chalkboard sign. I saw a girl on Youtube do it (go check her video out– she’s adorable) so I thought I would give it a try. And considering the amount of free time I have, I thought why not.

The first thing you will need is a wooden sign of some sort. I found this one and fell in love. The next thing you will need is any kind of Chalkboard paint that you can find at a craft store. The last thing you will need is any kind of paint to put around the edge-I decided to put gold. Also, don’t forget some brushes

Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

Now onto the actual project. Because we are using acrylic paint (and it stains), I always put something down underneath it. Today I opted for a trash bag. Very classy. Anyway, the first thing I did was put the gold paint on the outside of the wooden thingy. But I still left room so that you could still see it on the outside. Because my paint wasn’t as pigmented, I had to do two layers. But you do you.

Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

The next thing I did was put the chalkboard paint in the center. The chalkboard paint was kind of interesting. I had to once again do two layers, but I had to do it in the opposite direction. I also, spent a lot of time making sure it looked “perfect” next to the gold. When it was all dry I was pleased with what I had done.

Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

Without the chalk on it, it just looks like you put black paint, but once you write on it with chalk-or a chalk pen- it changes it completely. I love this DIY because it’s easy and you can change the writing whenever you want. Since Thanksgiving is coming up, I put “give thanks” on the front. I think it turned out really cute. Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

Whenever you have free time, I recommend that you try this DIY out. Thanks for reading this week;) & have an awesome Monday!!

xoxo, mh

Leave a Reply

