A Week in Charleston, South Carolina- Part 1

Instead of heading down to the Gulf of Mexico; I spent my time on the East coast. My best friend’s sister (who is also my bestie) goes to college in Charleston. They generously invited me to come with them. At first I debated going because I would be missing some school. Thankfully, I got everything situated and was able to go. We departed last Friday at around 6:30 (that being at night). We drove for a few hours and ended up outside of Atlanta. The next day we got up and drove the rest of the way. Dani (the best friend not in college) and I have a weird obsession with Twilight so we watched the first two. I would like to clarify that we only like it because we think it is funny, even though it’s not suppose to be.

When we got to Charleston, we immediately picked Caitlin up from her dorm. Then we headed back to the hotel to shower and unpack. We went to dinner and walked around downtown. We went down to the pier and obviously snapped some photos down there. We stopped by a gelato place and I got a coffee flavored gelato milkshake. It was heavenly. Then we went back to the hotel and went straight to bed.

   On Sunday, Dani and I went shopping while Caitlin was getting initiated into Kappa Delta (sorority stuff). As Dani and I were roaming the streets, we came across a Lush. Even though, I did end up purchasing some things on the last day, I knew I needed to restrain myself. We wondered into and out of stores. Many of which I didn’t buy anything. The only thing I got that day was a top from Madewell. Thankfully, it was on sale. That evening we went on a ghost tour. Now, if you have never been on a ghost tour, you are missing out. I love history so it was really interesting listening to all of the stories as we walked downtown.

The next morning, I woke up with only a couple hours of sleep due to waking up at 3 a.m. We had breakfast and went to the sight where our boat would take off. On this day, we decided to go to Fort Sumter. Believe it or not, it was actually really pretty. Dani and I were taking selfies (obviously with a selfie stick) the majority of the time and just walking around the area. We also learned some history about the place, but I won’t get into that. Dani and Caitlin swam (as in swim practice) for about an hour. I am a swimmer as well, but due to a back injury I can’t swim right now. After that, we went to dinner and then stopped by a cookie store. I, being gluten free, thought they were going to have a larger selection of their gluten free cookies. Well, they didn’t. I ended up getting a peanut butter one (which I didn’t like) and a lemon one. The one thing about this place is that they have milk dispensers. It’s kind of like how when you get soda at a fast food place but for milk. I thought I was in heaven. Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

On Tuesday, we finally made a “trip” down to the beach. It was not nearly as pretty as what I was used to, but it was the beach so I was happy. We “tanned” but actually got sunburned. We took pictures under the pier, and just had a good time. Over all,it was a really fun and chill day.Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

I am splitting this up in to two sections due to the longevity of it, so I hope you enjoy this first part!

xoxo, mh

Leave a Reply

